[Clayart] automation

W Seidl wjsmaine at gmail.com
Thu Sep 9 15:36:44 UTC 2021

Sticking my nose in here for a moment.  I have to take exception to 
"rule" 3.  My pugmill discharges clay directly into my extruder.  
Sometimes I'm guiding it by hand, sometimes not. It depends on what I'm 
attempting at the time.

I find it hard to believe that because of that, I cannot classify what I 
do as hand-made or hand crafted.  Were I a purist, I suppose that just 
using a pugmill or an extruder would therefore disqualify the work rule 
3 allows...but I think there might just be a little wiggle room. My opinion.

Wayne in Maine

not shooting any messengers here...saving those bullets for the skunks 
and foxes trying to eat my chickens.

>>>>> On Sep 8, 2021, at 4:07 PM, Terry Lazaroff <terrylazaroff at gmail.com> wrote:
>>>> snip
>>>> 3.   The master could use any tools and machines necessary to create the object, however, one machine could not feed another machine, thus the crafter was required to manipulate the object at every step of the way.
>>>> Food for thought.  Don’t shoot the messenger.
>>>> Terry

More information about the Clayart mailing list